Rounding up 2016: 30 days of music

Recently I posted the 30-Day Music Challenge to my Facebook profile. It was one of my Sunday afternoon projects: I scrolled through my music collection and made a list, then used Hootsuite to schedule thirty Facebook posts, one to go out each day at 4pm.

The full list is as follows:

DAY 1: A song you like with a colour in the title

Monday 21 November 2016: Amy Winehouse – Back To Black

.

DAY 2: A song you like with a number in the title

Tuesday 22 November 2016: The Selecter – Three Minute Hero

.

DAY 3: A song that reminds you of summer time

Wednesday 23 November 2016: Rainbow – Catch The Rainbow

.

DAY 4: A song that reminds you of someone you would rather forget about

Thursday 24 November 2016: Red Hot Chili Peppers – Wet Sand

.

DAY 5: A song that needs to be played LOUD

Friday 25 November 2016: System Of A Down – Chop Suey!

.

DAY 6: A song that makes you want to dance

Saturday 26 November 2016: James – Laid

.

DAY 7: A song to drive to

Sunday 27 November 2016: Ministry – Jesus Built My Hotrod

.

DAY 8: A song about drugs or alcohol

Monday 28 November 2016: The Verve – The Drugs Don’t Work

.

DAY 9: A song that makes you happy

Tuesday 29 November 2016: Outkast – Hey Ya

.

DAY 10: A song that makes you sad

Wednesday 30 November 2016: Janis Joplin – Piece of My Heart

.

DAY 11: A song that you never get tired of

Thursday 01 December 2016: Rammstein – Sonne

.

DAY 12: A song from your preteen years

Friday 02 December 2016: Duran Duran – Friends Of Mine

.

DAY 13: One of your favourite 1970s songs

Saturday 03 December 2016: Funkadelic – Cosmic Slop

.

DAY 14: A song that you would love played at your wedding

Sunday 04 December 2016: The Damned – Love Song

.

DAY 15: A song that is a cover by another artist

Monday 05 December 2016: The Lightning Seeds – You Showed Me

.

DAY 16: One of your favourite classical songs

Tuesday 06 December 2016: Delibes’ Flower Duet from Lakme

.

DAY 17: A song you would sing as a duet on karaoke

Wednesday 07 December 2016: The Beautiful South – Song for Whoever

.

DAY 18: A song from the year that you were born

Thursday 08 December 2016: Bruce Springsteen – Born To Run

.

DAY 19: A song that makes you think about life

Friday 09 December 2016: R.E.M. – I’ll Take The Rain

.

DAY 20: A song that has multiple meanings to you

Saturday 10 December 2016: Pearl Jam – I Am Mine

.

DAY 21: A favourite song with a person’s name in the title

Sunday 11 December 2016: Madness – Michael Caine

.

DAY 22: A song that moves you forward

Monday 12 December 2016: The Killers – Everything Will Be Alright

.

DAY 23: A song that you think everybody should listen to

Tuesday 13 December 2016: Triggerfinger – First Taste

.

DAY 24: A song by a band you wish were still together

Wednesday 14 December 2016: The Smiths – There’s A Light That Never Goes Out

.

DAY 25: A song by an artist no longer alive

Thursday 15 December 2016: David Bowie – Absolute Beginners

.

DAY 26: A song that makes you want to fall in love

Friday 16 December 2016: India Arie – Ready For Love

.

DAY 27: A song that breaks your heart

Saturday 17 December 2016: Bette Midler – Stay With Me

.

DAY 28: A song by an artist with a voice that you love

Sunday 18 December 2016: Selah Sue – Crazy Sufferin’ Style

.

DAY 29: A song that you remember from your childhood

Monday 19 December 2016: Phil Lynott – Old Town

.

DAY 30: A song that reminds you of yourself

Tuesday 20 December 2016: Catatonia – Strange Glue

.

Amazon.co.uk Ad-free stations, playlists & songs included with Amazon Prime

iFad

Let me make one thing very clear, first: I am not posting this to judge people for their consumer behaviour; I won’t accept anyone directly or indirectly trying to tell me how to spend my money, so I certainly won’t be doing that sort of thing to others. As long as it’s not my money you’re spending, I really don’t care – each to their own. (Although I do reserve my right to smirk at or behind the back of any adult engaging in ‘unboxing parties’*.) 

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, please be honest with me:

If you are one of those people who rushes to the store for the latest gadget on the day it comes out, then quickly rushes home or wherever else you can rush to unpack, switch on your gadget and start putting your experiences in writing – now here it comes so be VERY honest with me, please – what is it REALLY about for you? Let be more specific: Amidst all the other gadget fans, in all the other virtual and real-life locations, expressing all the other views and reviews, is there really anything left for you to add that hasn’t already been told, written, posted, printed, tweeted or otherwise communicated elsewhere, or are you just publishing your latest so-called review(s) to merely tell the world “HEY, LOOK EVERYONE! LOOK WHAT I’VE GOT! YOO-HOO! HELLOOO! OVER HERE, WATCH ME, LOOK AT WHAT I HAVE! IT’S THE NEWEST, LATEST, GREATEST, AND I AM ONE OF THE FIRST TO OWN IT! LOOK AT ME! CAN I HAVE YOUR ATTENTION PUH-LEASE TO SHOW YOU MY LATEST PURCHASE”?

Not judging, just asking…

(*Especially white middle class adults who give their events names that defy any standards of English and/or include terms that should only ever be uttered by black gangster rappers.)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence.
Creative Commons License Op dit werk is een Creative Commons Licentie van toepassing.